.

2012 Back to School: Important Dates For Needham Parents

Keep this list handy or add it to your personal calendar to stay on top of events throughout the school year.

Start off your school year right by knowing when all the important dates are—from early releases to school vacations to the last day of school. Patch has got you covered with this handy summary of the Needham Public Schools' 2012-13 academic calendar.

FIRST & LAST DAYS

  • First day of school for grades 1-12: Wednesday, Sept. 5
  • First day of kindergarten: Thursday, Sept. 6
  • First day of preschool and Kindergarten After-School Enrichment (KASE): Friday, Sept. 7
  • Last day of school for grades K-12 (pending snow days): Thursday, June 20
  • Absolute last day of school (with five snow/emergency days): Thursday, July 27

EARLY RELEASES*

  • Tuesday, Oct. 2 (professional development)
  • Wednesday, Oct. 24 (professional development)
  • Wednesday, Nov. 21 (Thanksgiving recess)
  • Wednesday, Jan. 9 (professional development)
  • Tuesday, Feb. 12 (professional development)
  • Thursday, March 7 (professional development)
  • Wednesday, March 27 (professional development)
  • Tuesday, May 14 (professional development)
  • Wednesday, June 5 (professional development)

TWO-HOUR DELAYED OPENINGS**

  • Thursday, Dec. 13 (professional development)
  • Thursday, Jan. 31 (professional development)
  • Tuesday, April 9 (professional development)

SCHOOL HOLIDAYS (NO SCHOOL)

  • Monday, Sept. 17—Rosh Hashanah
  • Wednesday, Sept. 26—Yom Kippur
  • Monday, Oct. 8—Columbus Day
  • Monday, Nov. 12—Veterans Day (celebrated)
  • Thursday, Nov. 22-Friday, Nov. 23—Thanksgiving recess
  • Monday, Dec. 24-Tuesday, Jan. 1—Winter recess
  • Monday, Jan. 21—Martin Luther King Jr. Day
  • Monday, Feb. 18—Presidents’ Day
  • Tuesday, Feb. 19-Friday, Feb. 22—February recess
  • Friday, March 29—Good Friday
  • Monday, April 15—Patriots’ Day
  • Tuesday, April 16-Friday, April 19—April recess
  • Monday, May 27—Memorial Day


SPECIAL DATES

  • Class of 2012 Graduation Ceremony: Monday, June 10

Know of an important upcoming event at your child’s school? Make sure it’s on the Needham Patch calendar so we can help spread the word. Events and announcements also may be sent to Becca Manning at Becca.Manning@patch.com

 

*Early release times for each school in the Needham Public School District are as follows:

  • —11:20 a.m.
  • —11:30 a.m.
  • —11:40 a.m.
  • —12:05 p.m.
  • —12:05 p.m.
  • —12:05 p.m.
  • —12:05 p.m.
  • —12:30 p.m.

**Check with your child's school for specifics about two-hour delayed start times.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something